I had originally thought when I first thought of investing that I would only invest in index funds. Then after plenty of reading, I found out that wasn’t the route for me. Then I switched to stocks, which I was more excited about, and knew I could make a better profit off of. However, all this reading also brought up one HUGE word I learned a bunch about in my Personal Finance class, diversify.

I was stuck with a problem. I wanted to diversify my stocks, but not invest in index funds. I also had very little capital, so I couldn’t buy a bunch of different stocks due to the fact that commissions alone would kill me. So, I set out to find a solution…

Betterment

After A TON of article reading, I came to an auto-investing company called Betterment. I was skeptical at first, because it wasn’t me making the decisions on which stocks to pick, but then I gradually warmed up to it. Basically you deposit your money into a Betterment “Goal”, which can be things such as “Build Wealth”, “Safety Net”, or even “Retirement”. You can link up your IRA accounts as well, which is a very neat feature. Once you deposit the money, Betterment does the rest. They buy into a stock/bond allocation of your choice, mostly of different index funds.

A few cool features of Betterment is Automatic Re-Balancing, Tax Loss Harvesting, and Automatic Dividend Re-Investing. These features are neat because most people don’t know how to do them, and save a bunch of time since they are done automatically for you.

Why I Use Betterment

Back to that important word before, to diversify. Thanks to Betterment, now I can own the four stocks that I do, and still have money diversified. I have as much money in my Online Brokerage account as my Betterment account, and plan on increasing my Betterment account by even more.

 

If you are interested in investing with Betterment, please use my personal referral link:

betterment.com/invite/tylerhunt

If you use this link, you will get 6 MONTHS of Betterment FREE!

 

